Start

Sustainability

Sustainability

Sustainability

PET - PRODUCT LIFE CYCLE

ENVIRONMENT & RESPONSIBILITY / PET REGRANULATE.

PET bottles and PET containers are environmentally friendly packaging that can be 100% recycled. At EPROPLAST, we also mix the so-called PET regranulate - which comes from the recycling cycle - with virgin PET granulate. Our state-of-the-art plant technology is energy-efficient and economical. Waste heat from our facilities is used to heat our warehouses and offices in winter. Furthermore, the entire production process of PET packaging is many times more energy-saving and environmentally friendly than comparable glass products.

Play Video

In this section, learn more about PET, its advantageous properties, as well as the numerous and various applications on the market.

If you have any further questions about PET packaging or PET packaging technology, please do not hesitate to contact us.

THE HIDDEN BENEFITS OF PET PACKAGING

Many emotions, few facts

A constant demonization of plastic packaging recently led the Lithuanian EU Commissioner, Virginijus Sinkevicius, responsible for the environment, oceans and fisheries, to a rather unrealistic proposal for an EU-wide ban on disposable packaging! Possible alternatives to plastic packaging are increasingly appearing on the scene, which on closer inspection are by no means to be regarded as more sustainable.

In order to conduct an objective discussion on the topics of packaging and sustainability, figures, data and facts are indispensable. One of the most important parameters is the value of CO2 emissions. In order to obtain a neutral evaluation of this parameter from one of our 500 ml PET hotfill bottles to a glass bottle of the same size, we have commissioned the company ClimatePartner in Munich to prepare a calculation of the aforementioned emissions. Taking into account raw material extraction, production and delivery to the customer, the determination of the necessary values and their comparison produced a clear result.

ENVIRONMENT & RESPONSIBILITY / PET REGRANULATE.

According to a market study by GVM (The Mainz Society for Packaging Market Research), a total of 466.5 kt of PET was consumed for the production of PET beverage bottles in Germany in 2015. However, 121.1 kt of recycled PET (rPET) was already used in this. 

This corresponds to a share of almost 26%. Taking into account exports of filled bottles abroad and imports of foreign products into Germany, the consumption of PET for beverage bottles was 477 kt. Considered across all collections (returnable bottles, PET-cycle, Dual Systems, etc.), 456.4 kt of PET was collected again in Germany and this corresponds to a collection rate of 95.7%. If only the collection rate for returnable PET bottles is considered, this is almost 99%. This means that PET as a packaging material has by far the highest collection rate among plastics.

477,0 kt

Total PET beverage bottle consumption in Germany

0

kt

Total PET bottle collection in Germany

0

kt

Recycling input in Germany & abroad

0

kt

Recycling output in Germany & abroad

From the collected PET volume, a total of approx. 95% recycled PET (rPET) was recovered for reuse. Approx. 34% of the recycled PET is used for bottle-to-bottle applications. The rest is used for the production of fibers, films, packaging tapes, injection molding applications and also non-food PET bottles (cleaning agents, chemicals). In the meantime, the demand in Germany and Europe for recycled PET exceeds the supply. The sale of used plastics to Asia practically no longer takes place...

0%
0%

356,4

kt

Total output rPET in Germany

0

kt

Usage: Films, fibers & others

121,1 kt

Usage: Bottle to Bottle

Just to give you an idea of the dimensions. In Germany, a total of 477 kt of PET was consumed for beverage bottles in 2015. In China, the comparable quantity is around 5,000 kt, i.e. more than 10 times as much. Considering that there is no collection system in China comparable to that in Germany, it is clear where marine littering comes from.

5.000 kt

Consumption of PET in China (2015)

0

kt

Consumption of PET in Germany (2015)

WHY NOT 100% RECYCLED?

THE CLOSED RECYCLING LOOP THROUGH THE USE OF RECYCLED PET

In the manufacturing process, there is process-related waste due to washing and sorting. This material (caps, labels, packaging bags, etc.) is used for low-grade applications. Therefore, approximately 70-80% of recycled PET is obtained from old bottles. Of course, the quality of the material is not improved by constant recycling. The molecule chains become shorter and thus more difficult to process. For sustainable production it is important that virgin material is always mixed with recycled material.

Therefore we have decided to use 50% recycled material.

ECO BOTTLE SERIES WITH RECYCLED PET

As an option to bottles made of virgin material, EPROPLAST GmbH now offers all bottles with the 24/410 and 28/410 thread with a 50% recycled PET content.

The use of recycled PET has an influence on the intrinsic coloration. The transparent material gets a slightly darker shade of gray. Therefore, many bottles with recycled PET are produced with a coloring agent.

CONTACT US?

No problem at all! If you need a quote or more information, we'll be happy to help.

Startseite

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit

PET - Produktlebenszyklus

Umwelt & Verantwortung / PET-Regranulat

PET-Flaschen und PET-Behälter sind umweltfreundliche Verpackungen, die zu 100% wiederverwendet werden können. Wir bei EPROPLAST mischen zum PET-Granulat auch sog. PET-Regranulat, welches aus dem Wiederverwertungskreislauf entstammt. Unsere technisch neuste Anlagentechnik arbeitet energieeffizient und sparsam. Entstehende Abwärme unserer Anlagen wird im Winter für die Beheizung unserer Lagerhallen und Büroräume verwendet. Darüberhinaus ist der gesamte Produktionsprozess von PET-Verpackungen um ein vielfaches energiesparender und umweltschonender als bei vergleichbaren Glasprodukten.

Video abspielen

Erfahren Sie in diesem Bereich mehr über den Rohstoff PET, seine vorteilhaften Eigenschaften, sowie die zahlreichen und verschiedenen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten am Markt.

Wenn Sie darüber hinaus noch Fragen rund um das Thema der PET-Verpackungen oder der PET-Verpackungstechnik haben, so zögern Sie nicht mit uns in Kontakt zu treten.

Die verschwiegenen Vorteile von PET-Verpackungen

Viele Emotionen, wenige Fakten

Eine stetige Verteufelung von Kunststoffverpackungen führte jüngst von Seiten des Litauer EU-Kommissars, Virginijus Sinkevicius, zuständig für Umwelt, Meere und Fischerei, zu einem eher unrealistischen Vorschlag, eines EU-weiten Verbotes von Einwegverpackungen! Es treten zunehmend mögliche Alternativen zu Kunststoffverpackungen auf den Plan, welche bei der näheren Betrachtung keines Wegs als nachhaltiger anzusehen sind.

Um eine sachliche Diskussion zu den Themen Verpackungen und Nachhaltigkeit zu führen, sind Zahlen, Daten und Fakten unabdingbar. Eine der wichtigsten Kenngrößen beschreibt der Wert der CO2-Emissionen. Um eine neutrale Bewertung dieser Kenngröße von einer unserer 500 ml PET Hotfill-Flaschen, zu einer gleich großen Glasflasche zu erlangen, haben wir das Unternehmen ClimatePartner in München mit der Erstellung einer Berechnung der CO2-Emissionen beauftragt. Unter Berücksichtigung der Rohstoffgewinnung, der Herstellung und der Lieferung bis zum Kunden ergab die Ermittlung der notwendigen Werte und deren Vergleich ein eindeutiges Ergebnis.

Umwelt & Verantwortung / PET-Regranulat

Laut einer Marktstudie der GVM (Gesellschaft für Verpackungsmarktforschung / Mainz), wurden für die Produktion von PET-Getränkeflaschen in Deutschland im Jahre 2015 insgesamt 466,5 kt PET verbraucht. Darin eingesetzt wurden aber bereits 121,1 kt recycelte PET (rPET). 

Das entspricht einem Anteil von nahezu 26%. Bei Berücksichtigung von Exporten gefüllter Flaschen ins Ausland und Importe ausländischer Produkte nach Deutschland lag der Verbrauch von PET für Getränkeflaschen bei 477 kt. über alle Sammlungen hinweg betrachtet (Pfandflaschen, Petcycle, Duale Systeme etc.) wurden in Deutschland 456,4 kt an PET wieder eingesammelt. Das entspricht einer Sammelquote von 95,7%. Wenn man nur die Sammelquote bei PET-Pfandflaschen betrachtet, so liegt diese bei nahezu 99%. Damit weist der Verpackungswerkstoff PET die mit Abstand höchste Sammelquote bei Kunststoffen auf

477,0 kt

Verbrauch PET-Getränkeflaschen gesamt in DEU

0

kt

Sammlung PET-Flaschen gesamt in DEU

0

kt

Verwertungszuführung in In- & Ausland

0

kt

Recycling-Output in In- & Ausland

Aus der gesammelten PET-Menge wurden insgesamt wieder ca. 95% Rezyklat (rPET) für die Wiederverwendung gewonnen. Ca. 34% der Rezyklat-Menge wird der bottle to bottle Verwendung zugeführt. Der Rest wird für die Produktion von Fasern, Folien, Verpackungsbändern, Spritzgussanwendungen und auch non-food PET-Flaschen (Reinigungsmittel, Chemie) eingesetzt. Der Bedarf in Deutschland und Europa nach recyceltem PET übersteigt in der Zwischenzeit das Angebot. Der Verkauf von Altkunststoffen nach Asien findet praktisch nicht mehr statt. …

0%
0%

356,4

kt

Gesamt Output rPET Inland

0

kt

Verwendung: Folien, Fasern & Sonstigen

121,1 kt

Verwendung: Bottle to Bottle

Um nur einmal die Dimensionen zu verdeutlichen. In Deutschland wurden 2015 insgesamt 477 kt PET für Getränkeflaschen verbraucht. In China beläuft sich die vergleichbare Menge auf ca. 5.000 kt, also mehr als das 10-fache. Das unter der Betrachtung, dass es in China kein zu Deutschland vergleichbares Sammelsystem gibt, macht deutlich woher die Meeresverschmutzung (Marine Littering) kommt.

5.000 kt

Verbrauch von PET in CHN (2015)

0

kt

Verbrauch von PET in DEU (2015)

Warum nicht 100% Rezyklat?

DER GESCHLOSSENE RECYCLING-KREISLAUF DURCH EINSATZ VON PET-REZYKLAT

Im Verarbeitungsprozess gibt es durch Waschen und Sortieren prozessbedingten Abfall. Dieses Material (Verschlüsse, Etiketten, Verpackungsbeutel, Feinanteil etc.) wird für minderwertige Anwendungen eingesetzt. Daher wird aus 100% alten Flaschen ca. 70-80% PET-Rezyklat gewonnen. Die Qualität des Materials wird durch ständiges recyceln natürlich nicht besser. Die Molekülketten werden kürzer und damit die Verarbeitung schwieriger. Für eine nachhaltige Produktion ist es wichtig, dass immer Neuware mit Rezyklat gemischt wird. Daher haben wir

uns für 50% Rezyklatanteil entschieden. Natürlich können auch Flaschen mit abweichendem Anteil an Rezyklat angeboten werden

Flaschenserie ECO mit PET-Rezyklat

Die EPROPLAST GmbH bietet als Option zu Flaschen aus Neuware, alle Flaschen mit dem Gewinde 24/410 und 28/410 ab sofort mit einem Anteil von 50% PET-Rezyklat an.

Die Verwendung von Rezyklat hat einen Einfluss auf die Eigenfärbung. Das transparente Material bekommt einen etwas dunkleren Grauton. Daher werden viele Flaschen mit Rezyklat mit einer Einfärbung produziert.

Kontakt aufnehmen?

Gar kein Problem! Wenn Sie ein Angebot oder weitere Informationen benötigen, helfen wir Ihnen gerne weiter.